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Worldbreaker™ Frequently Asked Questions 
Updated December 3, 2010 

Compiled by Edwin Teh, with contributions from Dave DeLaney, Jennifer Dery and Simon Key 

 

This set is legal for sanctioned Constructed play from December 14, 2010. 

1. Rules updates 

1.1 Striking with Weapons 

• You can only strike with a weapon as your hero attacks or defends. This is the only time you can strike with a 

weapon. 

• Striking a weapon associates that weapon with your hero for this combat. It doesn’t use the chain. 

• While associated, your hero has that weapon’s ATK and damage type. Your hero also has Long-Range while 

associated with a weapon with Long-Range 

• A weapon stops being associated with a hero as it changes zones, changes controllers, or stops being a weapon. 

 

1.2 Totems 

• Most previous rules for Totems have been removed. The only rules for all Totems are: 

o Totems can’t attack. 

o While in play, a Totem is also an ally. 

• Totems from Worldbreaker onwards are “Ability Ally” and count as both card types in all zones. 

• Previously printed Totems are not receiving functional errata. While in play, they count as both “Ability” and 

“Ally”, but are only “Ability” in all other zones. 

 

1.3 Equipment 

• Equipment is now a card type. 

o The six card types are ability, ally, equipment, hero, location, and quest. 

 

1.4 Forms 

• Forms from Worldbreaker onwards aren’t destroyed when you strike with a weapon or play a non-Feral 

ability. 

• Previously printed Forms are not receiving functional errata, so striking with a weapon and playing non-Feral 

abilities will still destroy them. 
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2. New keyword powers 

• Aberration is a keyword power that characters can have. It means: 

Prevent all non-combat damage that would be dealt to this character. 
 

• Stash: [Text] is a keyword power that cards can have. It means: 

As this card enters your resource row from anywhere, if it would enter face down, you may have it enter face 

up, then immediately turn it face down instead. When you do, [text]. 

o As a card with such a power enters your resource row face down, you may stash it no matter where it came from 
or whether it had powers there. For example, you may stash a card that is put into your resource row from play 
while it has no powers. 

o While you stash, a card is blank except for its stash power. As a result, it doesn’t violate uniqueness. 

o A triggered effect from a card’s stash power is controlled by the player whose resource row that card enters. 

o Some Mounts have a power that triggers “when you place a resource into your resource row face up.” Such a 
power triggers when you stash a resource that is placed. You choose in what order the Mount and stash triggered 
effects are added to the chain. 

o Some Green Dragonkin have a power that triggers “when a resource you control is turned face down.” Such a 
power triggers when you stash. You choose in what order the Dragonkin and stash triggered effects are added to 
the chain. 

o You can’t stash if keywords have been sabotaged. 
 

• Time is Money is a keyword power that characters can have. It means: 

This character can use [Activate] powers from the turn it enters your party. 

 

3. Specific cards 

Alexstrasza the Life-Binder, 25, Master Hero—Red Dragonkin Aspect, 0 [Fire] / 40 Health 

You pay (X) less to play Alexstrasza, where X is the combined ATK of allies you control. 

Assault 5 <p> Allies you control can't be destroyed. 

 

Allies you control can still be damaged, and will accumulate any damage dealt to or put on on them. 

Damage can’t be put on a character in excess of its health. Destruction “by the game” (such as uniqueness 

violations) can’t be stopped.  

 

Master heroes start the game in a deck. A deck can include a Master hero with a certain name only if it 

contains no Master heroes with any other name. A Master hero enters a party face up with the same 

attachments, counters, damage, and ready/exhausted state as that party’s previous hero, and then that 

previous hero is removed from the game. A Master hero can’t be flipped or turned face down. Any links 

targeting that previous hero now target the Master hero, and any modifiers to that previous hero now 

apply to the Master hero within their durations. 
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Blessing of the Kindred, 1, Paladin, Instant Ability—Protection Blessing 

Ongoing: As this ability enters play, name a class. <p> Friendly allies of that class have +1 / +1. 

 

This has received errata. The bold text above updates the printed text.  

The ten classes are Death Knight, Druid, Hunter, Mage, Paladin, Priest, Rogue, Shaman, Warlock, and 

Warrior. 

 
Boomer, 2, Hunter, Ally—Bat, Pet (1), 3 [Nature] / 3 Health 

Once on each of your turns: Emit a sonic blast >>> Exhaust target hero or ally. This ally deals 1 nature damage to it. 

 

You can target an exhausted character and it will be dealt 1 nature damage. 

 
Contagious Poison, 1, Rogue, Instant Ability—Assassination Poison 

Attach to target hero or ally that was dealt combat damage by your hero this turn. 

Ongoing: At the start of your turn, you may reattach this ability to target hero or ally. Then, your hero deals 2 nature damage to 

attached character. 

 

Your hero deals damage to attached character, even if you don’t reattach this. 

 
Emerald Lifewarden, 4, Ally—Green Dragonkin, 3 [Nature] / 3 Health 

You can place an additional resource on each of your turns. 

Stash: Reveal the top card of your deck. If it's a quest, put it into your hand. 

 

Additional resources can be placed face up or down. Multiple copies of this are cumulative. For example, if 

you control two, you can place two additional resources, and so on. To determine if you can place an 

additional resource, check if the number of additional resources you’ve already placed this turn is less than 

the number of copies of this you currently control. Once a resource has been placed on the chain, it can’t be 

interrupted by removing this from play in response, nor will such removal cause any resources to be 

destroyed. 

 
Eranikus, 5, Ally—Green Dragonkin Consort, Eranikus (1), 5 [Nature] / 6 Health 

At the start of your turn, reveal the top card of your deck, then place it into your resource row ready as an additional resource. 

 

Quests and locations may be placed face up or face down. Other card types can be placed only face down. If 

the revealed card has a stash power, you may stash it. 

 
Flourish, 3, Druid, Ability—Balance 

Reveal the top card of your deck. You may place it into your resource row exhausted as an additional resource. 

Stash: Your hero heals 2 damage from itself. 

 

See Eranikus. 

 
Furan Rookbane, 6, Alliance, Ally—Night Elf Druid, 6 [Arcane] / 5 Health 

When this ally enters play, reveal the top card of your deck. You may place it into your resource row exhausted as an additional 

resource. 

 

See Eranikus. 

 
King Genn Greymane, 5, Alliance, Ally—Worgen Warrior King, Genn (1), 4 [Melee] / 4 Health 

Aberration <p> This ally has +2 / +2 for each other Worgen you control. 

While this ally is ready, opposing heroes and allies can't attack other Worgen you control. 

 

This has received errata. The bold text above updates the printed text. 
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Mana Shift, 5, Mage, Ability—Arcane 

Gain control of any number of opposing abilities with combined cost less than or equal to the number of resources you control. For 

each of those abilities that's attached, you may reattach it. 

 

You control each of those abilities until it leaves play. To reattach an ability, detach it and then attach it to 

another card in play that matches its attach description. This doesn’t add it to the chain, so its non-ongoing 

text isn’t reprocessed. You may reattach it to an untargetable card even if its attach description is targeted. 

 
Mottled Drake, 2, Ally—Dragonkin, Mount (1), 0 [Nature] / 3 Health 

When you place a resource into your resource row face up, ready target Dragonkin ally you control. Your hero heals all damage 

from it. <p> (Mounts can't attack or be attacked.) 

 

You can target a ready Dragonkin ally, and all damage will still be healed from it. This triggers when you 
place a quest or location face up into your resource row, or when you stash a resource that is placed. It doesn’t 
trigger if a face-up resource enters your resource row any other way. 

 
Prized Beastmaster's Mantle, 4, HuSh, Equipment—Armor—Mail, Shoulder (1), 1 DEF 

Non-[Horde], non-[Alliance] allies you control have +3 [Health]. 

Stash: Your hero heals 3 damage from target non-[Horde], non-[Alliance] ally you control. 

 

This has received errata. The bold text above updates the printed text.  

The intent for this card is to work with Pets. 

 
Repurposed Lava Dredger, 3, DrPa, Equipment—2H Weapon—Mace, Melee (1), 1 ATK, 3 Strike 

(3), [Activate] >>> Reveal the top card of your deck and an additional card for each heirloom counter on this equipment. Place 

each revealed card into your resource row exhausted as an additional resource. 

Stash: Add an heirloom counter to target equipment you control. 

 

See Eranikus. 

 
Ripple, 2, Mage, Ability—Arcane 

Your hero deals 1 arcane damage to each opposing hero and ally. 

Stash: The next time your hero would deal damage with an ability this turn, it deals that much +1 instead. 

 

If an ability resolves to create multiple packets of damage dealt by your hero in the presence of this stash 

modifier, then all of those packets are considered to be “the next time” and are replaced. 

 
Sava'gin the Reckless, 3, Horde, Ally—Troll Druid, 8 [Nature] / 1 Health 

This ally attacks opposing heroes and allies at random. 

Stash: Your hero deals 2 nature damage to target random opposing hero or ally. 

 

As this is proposed as an attacker, first identify the set of legal proposed defenders (for example, by 

excluding elusive characters), and then randomly choose from that set.  

 

As you stash, first identify the set of legal targets (for example, by excluding untargetable characters), and 

then randomly choose from that set. 

 
Strangulate, 3, Death Knight, Instant Ability—Blood 

Interrupt target ability. 

Stash: Opponents can't play abilities this turn. 

 

Opponents can play instant abilities in response to the stash. Ability is a card type. Using a power is not 

playing an ability. 
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Unstable Infusion, 2, Mage, Ability—Arcane 

Your hero deals arcane damage to target hero or ally equal to the cost of an equipment in that character's party. 

 

The amount of arcane damage your hero deals is checked as this resolves. If the target’s controller doesn’t 

control an equipment at that time, no damage is dealt. 

 
Valerie Worfield, Horde, Hero—Undead Hunter (Survival), 28 Health 

[Front]: (3) >>> Flip Valerie. 

[Back]: Prevent the first 1 damage that would be dealt to Valerie each turn. 

 

This doesn’t heal or remove any damage already dealt the turn she flips face-down, nor does it prevent any 

further damage that turn if 1 damage has already been dealt to her, or if 1 damage that would have been 

dealt to her has already been prevented. 

 
Vigil of the Light, 6, PaPr, Ability—Holy 

Put target ally from your graveyard into play. If you do, attach this ability to it. 

Ongoing: At the start of each turn, your hero heals all damage from attached ally. 

 

If the target doesn’t enter play, this enters your graveyard rather than play. 

 
Vorix Zorbuzz, Horde, Hero—Goblin Rogue (Assassination), 27 Health 

[Front]: (3) >>> Flip Vorix. 

[Back]: If Vorix would deal melee damage, he deals that much nature damage +1 instead. 

 

This has received errata. The bold text above updates the printed text. 

 
Wyvern Sting, 1, Hunter, Instant Ability—Survival Talent Sting 

Survival Hero Required <p> Attach to target ally, or target hero or ally if you control a Ranged weapon. 

Ongoing: Attached character can't attack or exhaust unless its controller pays (2). 

 

You only need to control a Ranged weapon as you play this targeting a hero. 

 

If a character is affected by this, its controller must pay (2) as an additional cost to propose that character 

as an attacker. There is no additional cost for a character affected by this to exhaust to attack. If that 

character is also affected by a “must attack if able” modifier, that character is unable to attack (and 

consequently need not attack) unless its controller chooses to pay (2). If the proposal is interrupted, the 

resources paid remain exhausted. 

 

If a character is affected by this, it can’t exhaust for any other reason unless its controller chooses to pay 

(2). 

 
Ysera the Dreamer, 20, Master Hero—Green Dragonkin Aspect, 3 [Nature] / 40 Health 

You pay (1) less to play Ysera for each face-down resource you control. 

Mend 3 <p> At the start of your turn, you may draw a card. 

 

Master heroes start the game in a deck. A deck can include a Master hero with a certain name only if it 

contains no Master heroes with any other name. A Master hero enters a party face up with the same 

attachments, counters, damage, and ready/exhausted state as that party’s previous hero, and then that 

previous hero is removed from the game. A Master hero can’t be flipped or turned face down. Any links 

targeting that previous hero now target the Master hero, and any modifiers to that previous hero now 

apply to the Master hero within their durations. 

 


