
Word of Warcraft TCG – Regelklärungen 
 

• Im WoW TCG werden Schadenspunkte bis zum tödlichen Schaden 
hochgezählt 

• In WoW kann man beliebig oft in seiner Runde angreifen, allerdings immer 
nur mit einem Helden oder Verbündeten zu einer Zeit. Außerdem wählt der 
Angreifer den gewünschten Verteidiger aus. (Dies kann der verteidigende 
Spieler durch Verbündete mit der Kraft Beschützer ändern.)  Wird ein 
Verbündeter als Beschützer deklariert, muss man ihn erschöpfen. 

• Im WoW TCG ist der Schaden, den Verbündete erhalten permanent, kann 
aber durch Kräfte oder Fähigkeiten geheilt werden. 

• In WoW geht der Kampfschaden nicht über die Kette. Am Ende des 
Kampfes verursachen nur noch Verbündete Schaden, die sich noch im Spiel 
befinden. 

• In WoW legt man Quests oder beliebige andere Karten (diese aber mit dem 
Rücken nach oben) als Ressource. Durch das Erschöpfen der Ressourcen 
kann man die Ressourcenkosten der Fähigkeiten, Sofort-Fähigkeiten, 
Verbündeten, Gegenstände, Kräfte oder Quests sofort bezahlen. Das Legen 
der Ressourcen geht über die Kette. 

• In WoW besteht ein Deck aus 60 Karten und einem optionalen Sidedeck 
mit 10 Karten. 

• Im WoW TCG müssen Decks in Limited Formaten (Draft oder Sealed) 
mindestens 30 Karten enthalten. 

• Im WoW TCG kann jeder Spieler die gleiche einzigartige Karte einmal im 
Spiel haben. Legt ein Spieler eine zweite, einer schon im Spiel befindlichen 
einzigartigen Karte, muss er sofort eine davon zerstören. 

• Im WoW TCG darf jeder Spieler nur maximal einen Mulligan vor Beginn des 
Spiels nehmen. Er zieht wieder genau sieben Karten auf seine Starthand. 

• Eine Karte zu spielen oder eine Ressource zu platzieren legt diese Karte 
oben auf die Kette. Eine Kraft zu nutzen, eine Quest zu erfüllen, einen 
Kampf zu beantragen oder mit einer Waffe zuzuschlagen legt den 
entsprechenden Effekt oben auf die Kette. Einen Charakter erschöpfen um 
zu beschützen oder eine Rüstung erschöpfen um Schaden zu verhindern 
nutzt nicht die Kette. Ebenso wird auch Schaden nicht auf die Kette 
gelegt (obwohl Karten und Effekte, die Schaden zufügen, natürlich auf die 
Kette gelegt werden.) 

• Die Möglichkeit eines Spielers, der Kette ein Kettenglied hinzuzufügen, wird 
Priorität genannt. Nur ein Spieler kann zur selben Zeit Priorität erhalten. 
Wenn sich ein Prioirtäten-Fenster öffnet, erhält immer der Zugspieler 
Priorität. Ein Spieler, der Priorität erhält, kann ein Glied der Kette hinzufügen 
oder die Priorität an den nächsten Spieler im Uhrzeigersinn passen. Fügt er 
ein Glied der Kette hinzu, erhält er erneut Priorität. Nachdem eine Karte 
oder ein Effekt verrechnet oder unterbrochen wurde, erhält der Zugspieler 
Priorität. 

• Alle Prioritäten-Fenster arbeiten auf die gleiche Art und Weise. Sobald sich 
ein Fenster öffnet, werden zunächst alle wartenden triggernde Effekte auf 
die Kette gelegt. Danach erhält der Zugspieler Priorität. Nachdem 
hintereinander alle Spieler ihre Priorität gepasst haben, wird versucht, den 
oberste Effekt/die oberste Karte auf der Kette zu verrechnen. Danach 
bekommt immer der Zugspieler Priorität. Wenn ein Spieler etwas der Kette 
hinzufügt, bekommt er erneut Priorität usw. Passen nacheinander alle 



Spieler bei leerer Kette, schließt sich das aktuelle Fenster und das Spiel 
geht weiter. 

• Man kann jederzeit eine Kraft nutzen oder eine Quest erfüllen, wenn man 
Priorität erhält, auch während des Zuges des Gegners. 

 
Zum Kampf hier noch aus den offiziellen Comprehensive Rules (gibt es nur auf 
Englisch): 
 
6. Combat  
 
600. Overview  
 
600.1 During a player’s action phase, that player may propose any number of 
combats, proposing and concluding each of them one at a time. Each combat is 
proposed as either a sabotage or normal (non-sabotage) combat. 
 
600.2 Some modifiers say that a character “must attack if able.” This means that for 
the duration of such a modifier, that character's controller can’t pass priority while the 
chain is empty during his or her non-combat action phase if he or she could legally 
propose a combat with that character. 
 
600.3 Some modifiers say that a character “can’t attack unless its controller [pays a 
cost].” This is an additional cost to adding an effect to the chain proposing that 
character as an attacker. If a character is affected by both a “can’t attack unless its 
controller [pays a cost]” modifier and a “must attack if able” modifier, that character is 
unable to attack (and consequently need not attack) unless its controller chooses to 
[pay that cost].  
 
601. Combat proposal  
 
601.1 A player may propose a combat only during his or her non-combat action 
phase while he or she has priority and the chain is empty. Proposing a combat 
follows the applicable rules for adding a link and adds a proposal effect to the chain.  
 
601.2 To propose a combat, a player must choose a character in his or her party to 
be the proposed attacker, and something else to be the proposed defender.  
 
601.2a To be a legal proposed attacker, a character must be ready and must be able 
to attack the proposed defender. In addition, it must have been in the turn player’s 
party continuously since the start of his or her current turn and/or have ferocity.  
 
601.2b To be legal, the proposed defender for a non-sabotage combat must be a 
non-elusive character controlled by an opponent of the turn player that the proposed 
attacker can attack. The proposed defender for a sabotage combat must be a non-
elusive [thing] that the proposed attacker can sabotage, and must not be controlled 
(or owned, if it has no controller) by a player friendly to the proposed attacker.  
 
601.2c If a character is affected by a modifier that says it “can attack only [a specified 
(kind of) character] if able,” it can be proposed as an attacker only if that (kind of) 
[character] is proposed as the defender. However, if such a proposal can’t be made 
(because there are no such [characters] in play, or all such [characters] are elusive, 



for example), any other legal defender can be proposed. 
 
601.2d If a character is affected by two or more modifiers that say it “can attack only 
[a specified character] if able,” it can be proposed as an attacker only if one of those 
[characters] is proposed as the defender. However, if all such proposals would be 
illegal, any other legal defender can be proposed.  
 
601.2e If a proposed attacker or defender breaks any rules governing combat 
legality, the proposed combat is illegal and can’t be proposed.  
 
601.2f If a proposed attacker or defender becomes a different card or changes 
controllers, it stops being a proposed attacker or defender.  
 
601.3 As a proposal effect tries to resolve, the legality of the proposed combat is 
rechecked. If it’s still legal, that effect resolves, the current priority window closes, 
and a combat step starts. Otherwise, the proposal effect is interrupted. If a proposal 
effect is interrupted this way, the proposed attacker stops being a proposed attacker, 
the proposed defender stops being a proposed defender, and the turn player gets 
priority in his or her action phase with the chain empty.  
 
602. Combat step  
 
602.1 As a combat step starts, the proposed attacker exhausts, becomes an 
attacker, and starts attacking, but is not yet in combat (602.3). None of this uses the 
chain. Then, a priority window opens, called the attack window. Any waiting 
triggered effects are added to the chain, and then the turn player gets priority.  
 
602.2 As an attack window closes, if there is no attacker and/or no proposed 
defender, the combat concludes (603). Otherwise, any player opposed to the 
attacker may exhaust a character in his or her party that can protect the proposed 
defender against the attacker. If that happens, the proposed defender stops being 
the proposed defender, and that exhausted character becomes the proposed 
defender and starts protecting. This doesn’t use the chain and is the only time a 
character can protect. This is called the protect point.  
 
602.2a While an attacker has stealth, characters can’t protect.  
 
602.2b Only one character can protect each combat. A character can protect whether 
or not it can be attacked by the attacker. A proposed defender can't protect itself.  
 
602.2c If a character protects during a sabotage combat, it stops being a sabotage. 
 
602.3 Next, if there is no attacker and/or no proposed defender, the combat 
concludes (603). Otherwise, the following happens. The proposed defender becomes 
a defender and starts defending against the attacker. The attacker starts attacking 
the defender. Both attacker and defender enter combat and are now in combat with 
each other. None of this uses the chain. Then a priority window opens, called the 
defend window. Any waiting triggered effects are added to the chain, and then the 
turn player gets priority. As a defend window closes, the combat concludes (603). 
 
602.3a A player may strike with a weapon only while a defend window is open and 



his or her hero is in combat.  
 
602.3b If a modifier causes a character to “become a defender” during combat, that 
character starts defending against the attacker and the attacker starts attacking it. 
Both characters enter combat and are now in combat with each other. A sabotage 
combat stops being a sabotage.  
 
602.3c An attacker or defender is in combat while there’s an opposing attacker or 
defender.  
 
602.4 Attackers, defenders, proposed attackers, and proposed defenders can be 
removed from combat. As something is removed from combat, it stops being an 
attacker, defender, proposed attacker, or proposed defender, and stops attacking, 
defending, protecting, and being in combat, as applicable. A card is removed from 
combat as it becomes a different card or changes controllers. Any remaining attacker 
or defender continues to attack, defend, and protect as applicable. This doesn’t 
cause the combat step to end immediately. A combat step always proceeds to 
conclusion whether or not an attacker or defender remains.  
 
603. Combat conclusion  
 
603.1 No player gets priority during combat conclusion. If both an attacker and a 
defender remain in a non-sabotage combat, the attacker deals a packet of combat 
damage equal to its ATK to the defender, and the defender simultaneously deals a 
packet of combat damage equal to its ATK to the attacker. If both an attacker and a 
defender remain in a sabotage combat, no combat damage is dealt, and powers that 
trigger “when [the attacker] sabotages” do so, even if it has 0 ATK. 
 
603.1a If the attacker has long-range, defenders can’t deal combat damage. This is 
an exception to 603.1. 
 
603.1b If there is no attacker and/or no defender remaining, no combat damage is 
dealt and nothing triggers. If an attacker remains but no defender remains, that 
attacker doesn’t ready. 
 
603.2 Next, a series of pre-priority checks takes place, but no waiting triggered 
effects are added to the chain, and no players get priority. 
 
603.3 As the last part of combat conclusion, all attackers, defenders, proposed 
attackers, and proposed defenders are removed from combat (602.4), and then 
modifiers with duration “this combat” end. Next, the combat step ends, and a priority 
window opens in the turn player’s action phase. Any waiting triggered effects are 
added to the chain, and then the turn player gets priority. 


